• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Complete Novice - Looking for advice

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Complete Novice - Looking for advice

Hi Everyone,

This is my 1st experience with the small claims courts and I'm hoping someone can offer me some help and advice.

Last year I overstayed at Morrisons in Camden and received a Parking Notice Charge. I had a quick look in the internet and was advised to ignore it. Next thing I know I received a notice from Northampton country court.

I went back online and found a company called Parking ticket Appeals Limited and paid them £19.95 to write my defence (I can't seem to attach it but can email it to anyone who needs to see it?)

Apparently this did not work as I then got a Notice of proposed allocation to small claims fast track.

They asked if I wanted to have the hearing somewhere else and I said I would prefer St Albans.

On the 5th December i received a Notice of Transfer of Proceedings to the County Court in St Albans.

On the 26th January I received a Notice of Allocation to the Small Claims Track (Hearing) on 21st April 2015.

My question is:

1. I have no legal experience and find this whole system extremely stressful and complicated. Is it worth me going back to Parking Eye and trying to negotiate a out of court settlement?
    2. If I do go to court, what is my worst case scenario?

As you can see I'm completely out of my depth here, so any advice would be appreciated. If you need any more info please let me know.

Thanks in advance.
    Attached Files
    Tags: None

Re: Complete Novice - Looking for advice