• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Used car bought 3 months ago, deemed not roadworthy by the AA

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Used car bought 3 months ago, deemed not roadworthy by the AA

Hi everyone,

I have 3 questions that I hope someone can help me with:

Q1: I've been driving the mentionend used car for 2 months now (technically 3 from the purchase date, but less than 1600 miles driven by commuting), which has some faults that I reported to the trader during the 30 first days and that I can prove weren't fixed correctly. This faults make the car unsafe to drive (deemed by an AA vehicle inspector a week ago) and it is unlikely that it would pass an MOT with all the other extra failures encountered. Could the trader blame me for the other faults (which I can't entirely prove that were there), and refuse to take the car back? Or in this case would it be him who had to prove I "wrecked" the car in these two (3) months? (which I haven't, of course, but the inspector said there was internal evidence that the car had been in an accident, and the police have no record of any past accidents in the history of the car, it could be hard to prove who had it).

Q2: If I didn't do a very "formal" request for a refund during the first 30 days, but I stated it on an email (mentioning the Consumer Rights Act 2015) and the trader refused to take the car back, am I still entitled to get a refund?