• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Rossendales Final Notice - Council Tax

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rossendales Final Notice - Council Tax

Last year I was a full time student and exempt from paying council tax when my course ended in May (2012) I claimed JSA until September when I started a new course which gave me exemption from council tax.

For one reason or another (not been made clear to me) I see to have been charged 390.56 in council tax, I tried to chase it up but the council would be to busy on the phones or office when I had spare time to sort it out.

The stupidly stressful time of my 1st year as a degree student and having a family and evening job got in the way and Im forgetful at the best of times I didn't sort it.

I was walking out the door (22.4.13) with my daughter to take her to school as a man approached me he didnt tell me who he was I assumed he was after something so I explained I couldn't stop and he handed me a letter and I said "whatever" or something to that affect and tossed it in my house and quickly took my daughter to school.

When I returned I read the letter and found out it was from Rossendales "Notice Of Bailiffs Attendance" saying I owed £390-56 plus costs, I rang the council about it and said I had to deal with Rossendales so I thought I will sort it out in a day or too when I had spare time as you are aware my time keeping and sense of urgency are rubbish lol and I didn't get round to ringing them to offer them a payment.

Today (10.06.13) I found a letter of "Final Notice" stuffed through my letter box we have been in the house all day and my puppy hasn't barked as she would if someone was at the door and we didnt hear a knock.