• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Elliebot

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Elliebot

Hello out there I am new to this so bear with me if i do something wrong My Dad died 11 months ago. I and my deceased sister's family are main beneficiaries The executor sacked my Dads solicitor and his financial advisor (who handled all my dads financial affairs) within a couple of weeks of his death I have heard nothing since. Do I have any rights to ask for an update? My Dad lived in N.Ireland as do they. I do have a copy of his will.
    Tags: None

Hi Elliebot, Welcome to the forum, I'm sorry it is difficult circumstances.

Do you have any contact with the Executor of your Dad's will at all ?
    Was his solicitor also an executor of the will originally ?
    Was the executor also a beneficiary of the will ?
    Have you asked the executor for an update ?

11 months does seem a long time to have not heard anything, although there seems to be a limit of one year in NI in which to distribute the estate, after which interest may be chargeable against the executor. So you should receive your inheritance within the next month. If you don't, and the executor refuses to give you any information, you could go to the court and seek an order that the executor provide you with a full inventory of the estate and a copy of the estate accounts.

Do you know much about your Dad's estate, if it may have been particularly complicated to sort out ? Do you have particular concerns about the executor and his/her handling of the estate ?

I'll move your thread down to the Wills & Probate forum and tag Peridot to look in.
    #staysafestayhome