• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

PCN from Civil Enforcement Ltd. - WON

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PCN from Civil Enforcement Ltd. - WON

Hi folks,

I know there are various threads on this subject already, but I'm a newbie here and utterly inexperienced at this, so I want to make sure I'm doing this right. The situation is this:

I parked in a private carpark while I picked up someone from the ferry terminal opposite (no parking at said terminal). The signs say that the first 10 minutes are free and then you have to pay by phone (no P&D ticket machines). I thought I was within the time, but earlier this week I received a Parking Charge Notice from Civil Enforcement Ltd. saying that I was actually in the carpark for 11 minutes and 28 second and that, for this 1 min 28 sec overstay I owe them £100 (or £60 if I pay by 17th November. As far as I'm concerned this is a massively exaggerated charge for a genuine oversight. Hence, I'm wanting to appeal.

I just want to check that I'm right in first sending them this:

"Dear Sirs,

I, as registered keeper, wish to invoke your appeals procedure. The driver did not see any signs. In any event the charges are penal and not a genuine pre-estimate of loss.

In the event that you refuse my appeal, please send me a PoPLA code. I am under no statutory obligation to name the driver and will not be doing so.

Yours faithfully,"

I wasn't sure whether to explain the siltation as I have here, given that I did actually see the sign (but thought I was within the time limit), or just leave it at that?

Cheers,
    Marc.
    Tags: None

Re: PCN from Civil Enforecement Ltd.