• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Help with letting problem please

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with letting problem please

Hi,
    newbie here.
    like most newbies, i've registered as i need advice - not sure where to ask though.

we (me, husband & mil) have a property we let out short term to cover bills (mortgage, rates, service charges etc) through gumtree mainly.

we had a guest make a booking recently, didn't pay deposit or give card details as security due to bereavement (?!). We arranged to meet at the property at 2pm to allow her access and hand over keys. at 3.15pm we left the property as after trying to contact her there had been no reply and we had to go to another appointment. at 3.35pm someone phoned to say they were there and looking in, so we arranged to go back at 4.30pm.

on our return, she was not there, 3 other people were there though, demanding to be let in. they mentioned another 'crowd' arriving in another car soon and given that the property is only insure for max occupancy of 4 entry was refused and we left the car park/property.

now apparently the 'guests' are professionals - working in press & PR - and are now threatening to 'ruin us' and our reputation etc, going as far as to say they are making it their mission.