• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Online zero-hours contracts : minimum notice period for employer to cancel work

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Online zero-hours contracts : minimum notice period for employer to cancel work

I'm an online teacher of English. I'm due to have an interview soon with an online language school based in an EU country. It looks like a promising place for my career but I have some issues following info I have seen online from ex-employees. Basically, the set-up seems to be a zero hours contract where I work from home and only get paid for time actually spent teaching. This is normal but the concern is that (it seems) students can cancel lessons up to 6 hours before they start. If they do, the teacher receives nothing. This means that you can go to bed with a full morning booked and wake up to find that all lessons have been cancelled during the night, you get nothing. In practice, the notice to the teacher in this situation is practically zero.

Can employers really mess you around like this, even on a zero-hours?
    Or if they are up-front about it, then is it caveat emptor?

On zero-hours, I guess I should be able to choose if I accept clients who mess me around, but obviously this could result in me not being allocated work.