• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Further Steps Notice

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Further Steps Notice

Good afternoon and thanks for taking the time to read my problem !
    Im a full time student studying at Leeds Beckett Uni and have been informed by my dad that a letter have landed at home from West Yorkshire Collection and Enforcement today which is advising I owe £2046.00 and they are going to issue a warrant etc etc.
    Firstly this is the first letter I have had from these people and it doesn’t advise what this is for. I have emailed them asking but had no response. The only ever time I have had a fine is earlier this year when police came to our student accommodation and issued fines for breach of covid rules as we had more people in our dorm than allowed and as I was one of two names for that room I was issued £800 fine. I was told to ignore it which I did though I couldn’t afford to pay it anyway! I was told it wouldn’t go to court and had not further correspondence for this.

I don’t just want to ignore it again as it could be an awful problem and my parents have gone mad although they also don’t know what it’s for.

any help on what to do would be appreciated

thank you
    MM x
    Tags: None

islandgirl Can you please take a look and advise, many thanks.

Comment

Hello Mollie. I suspect what has happened (though I do not know this - it is speculation) is that you have been issued a fixed penalty covid breach notice at your uni flat. You should not have ignored the fine. Looking online this is probably the fine involved:
      Large gatherings of more than fifteen people £800 (reduced to £400 if paid within 14 days)