• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Can solicitors change name of debt!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can solicitors change name of debt!

I am wondering if someone can help. Lowell and Overdales are taking me to court for catalogue debts. These are not in my name and I have no knowledge of the accounts. Overdales are saying they can apply for the name to be changed on the accounts to the name on my legal identification. Are they allowed to do this?
    They have no proof that I am the person who opened these accounts and on receiving my legal identification they have gone to the original creditor who has disclosed information about an account which was in my legal name which I claimed PPI. This account has no relevance to the account they've chasing but they seem yo be putting 2 and 2 together and coming up with 5.
    Also one of the accounts they have no default notice and haven't produced it and have stated there was an error when it was issued in 2019 so not sure if they can enforce this in court.

Any help appreciated thankyou.
    Tags: None

Hi Happyme!

Welcome to LB

Have you received a Court Claim?

How old are the accounts?

Comment

Hello, yes I have received a claim and submitted my defence and just received a directions questionnaire today. The accounts were opened in 2015 both defaulted 2019.

Comment

Thankyou for the welcome is anyone able to help with the questions I've asked?

Comment

Originally posted by Happyme! View Post
          Thankyou for the welcome is anyone able to help with the questions I've asked?
          It's a strange one because you are saying 'These are not in my name and I have no knowledge of the accounts'.