• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Just ran a soft credit report and found out about a CCJ at my old address

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just ran a soft credit report and found out about a CCJ at my old address

Dear all,

I just ran a soft credit report and found - to my astonishment - there is a CCJ against my name at my old address. I moved a couple of years ago and the CCJ is dated nearly a year later!

I contacted the Court concerned, mentioning I have had no knowledge of this claim and have not received any papers regarding it, and they have emailed me a copy of the judgement.

Bizarrely, I have never had any dealings with the claimant - a car rental company. Indeed, I have only ever rented one car - several months before I moved out of the address and it was not only with a different company but with an entirely different rental car group. It was also returned with no damage and confirmed so from their representative. So even if this was somehow referring to my rental with another group, I cannot in any event think such a claim would be reasonable. I therefore suspect fraud / identity theft.

UPDATE: I have received the particulars of claim which only state:
    "under rental agreement entered in to between the Claimant and the Defendant, the Claimant hired a vehicle to the Defendant. Following the rental period the Claimant has demanded payment of the repair costs of the vehicle and associated costs in the sum of [nearly £2000]..." with a little explanation that some is interest under the appropriate act."