• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Unpaid CCJ - sent to wrong address

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unpaid CCJ - sent to wrong address

Hi everyone - hoping you can help...

Today I received a letter of NOTICE OF DEBT RECOVERY - Unpaid County Court Judgement of £185 from Direct Collection Bailiffs. In short I have logged on to their site and found it is from a parking fine - this is the first communication I have had re this fine EVER. After some googling, one credit score website is indeed showing up the CCJ as unpaid and date of county court judgement was Feb 2021. It also says CCJ was issued to my OLD registered address, which I moved out of in May 2019. It doesnt help that I was a student at University at this time so constantly changing addresses, bills in different places etc. I will also call the CC in Northampton on Monday when they open.

My credit score has now dropped over 380 points because of this and I am in my early 20s and looking to buy a house in the next few years hopefully so I am super stressed by this. Ideally I want to submit a N244 to remove the CCJ from my record completely (I have not yet paid the CCJ £185 because of this). Just unsure whether I have a good enough of a claim to prove all communication re fine, court claim etc was sent to my old address which I no longer lived in. Ofc had I received letters I would have paid the fine, and at the very least, paid the CCJ within 30 days so it did not stay on my record - however as I am only finding out about the CCJ 18 months later from a debt collectors letter I did not know this. (Experian, which I normally check my credit score on, does not show the CCJ at all so I would never have noticed it off my own back).