• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Car Repossession but I Have Paid in Full

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Car Repossession but I Have Paid in Full

Hello,

This is my first time posting on here so thank you for any advice and apologies for any mistakes.

Today I received a Summary Cause Summons for Action of Delivery from the Sheriff Court. This is in relation to a vehicle finance agreement. I took out a PCP deal in 2018 but in 2021, I was unable to pay the ballon payment in full. The creditor agreed over the telephone and via letter to accept me clearing the balance via monthly payments. This has been the case ever since. However, following a missed payment from me, I received a letter advising that I must make my usual instalment within seven days or they would seek court action without further notice. I did not make a payment until 14 days after the letter was received as I am currently on a clinical placement and did not see the letter in time. I then panicked and, on the 16th of this month, I paid the outstanding amount in full via bank transfer which has been accepted and acknowledged by what seems to be their automated email service. The date of the court paperwork is the 17th.

The issue is that today I received the court paperwork and it states that they are requesting the vehicle be returned. Has anybody every heard of a situation like this? Can they demand the vehicle is returned despite me having paid the arrears?

Thank you for any advice
    Tags: None