• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

please help - accused of shoplifting from asda

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• please help - accused of shoplifting from asda

Please help, im new to this and need advice,

I was doing my weekly shop in asda with my 1 year old daughter,
    shes teething v.bad and v.clingy, so find doing shopping v.stressful, so I had to keep getting her in and out of the trolly to give her a cuddle,

as im leaving the store, having paid for my shopping 2 young boys (one of them I recognised had been following me round the store) stopped me,
    and asked if id purchased any cosmetics, I said no, I forgot that I had intended to buy a new mascara, but as my little girl is teething I gave it to her to chew, I didnt want to put in the trolly as when ive put make-up in, in the past its fallen through the trolly on the floor, anyway sometime during my shop I put it in my handbag, as she kept on throwing it on the floor I think I must have picked it up and held onto it and at some point put it into my handbag, (its the type of bag you wear like a paperbag)

Anyway they asked me to empty my bag, which I did and the mascara was there,
    I explained that I had intended to buy it and that was I was distracted by my little girl and had made a mistake, so could I just pay for it,
    but also I had a packet of vac freshners tucked under my shopping bag which he said id tried to hide,
    but I hadnt as I didnt even know it was there,

I was taken to go into a room with 4 security guards, Iasked why I was being held there when tried to explain and answer their questions and explain that I hadnt done anything wrong,