• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Council Tax and Rossendales

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Council Tax and Rossendales

I'd be very grateful for some advice on my situation:

I finished full time education at the end of September and have been liable for council tax since that time only, in a property I have lived in since March. In August the council attempted to get a magistrates liability order for unpaid council tax, not realising i was a student. Very shortly before the court date I managed to gather the evidence I needed to prove I didn't need to pay and was assured by the council staff member that everything was now sorted until I had finished my course. In late September I received a council tax bill (including fees for the court date in August) but somewhat stupidly forgot about it until mid november when I received a letter from Rossendales headed "Magistrates liability order/ warrant of execution dated 5/08/2013". This date falls into the period that I was not required to pay council tax- could the magistrate have given a liability order even though I owed nothing at the time?

I would also be grateful for clarification on this point: If I pay the tax/court fees in full online before the bailiffs take anything, I believe I will be only obliged to pay Rossendales the 42.50 for two visits to my property. Do I add that on to the amount I pay the council or do I arrange to pay the bailiffs seperately? Can the council decline my direct payment (as the bailiffs would lose their "costs")?

Thank you
    Tags: None

Re: Council Tax and Rossendales

Hi dkb22 welcome to Legal Beagles