• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Bailiff removed my van and tools...Help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bailiff removed my van and tools...Help

Hi, a newbie here!

Last Thursday, as I was attending a wedding abroad, my Van and tools were taken by Jacobs Enforcement. They left no paperwork just a mobile number. They are demanding £2700 plus £40 a day storage. I have untill Wednesday to cough up the cash...... or they will sell at auction!

This is to do with unpaid pcn's

A. Can they take a work vehicle ( Worth Approx £7000.00).

B. Can they take my Tools (Approx £8000.00 to replace).

C. It is my sole vehicle, for work only, insured as business, I am self employed.

Any advice would be great.

Re: Bailiff removed my van and tools...Help

A quote from another post -
    It is important to note that under Section 54 of the Magistrate Courts Rules it expressly prohibits bailiffs from removing a vehicle used in the course of employment.

Comment

Re: Bailiff removed my van and tools...Help

as far as ik now the bailiff can only seize good valued at enough to cover the debt. Taking 15 grands worth of goods for a 2700 debt seems out of proportion. Taking your livelihood away is also not allowed. Put this view in writing to the bailff (send special delivery to his office) While the bailff wont care about these rules, personally I would be instructing a solicitor to pursue the bailiff.