• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

RLP Letter

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RLP Letter

Hi All. I was summoned for shoplifting in John Lewis on the 17th of November 2023. The items worth was 270£. I feel extremely bad about it, I had taken counselling sessions too at the time. I was called for a voluntary interview as I have no other crime reports and was given a conditional caution at the time and let go. On the 15th of January 2024, I received a letter from Retail Loss Prevention saying I owe them 798£, the 525£ is for their time to go through the cctv, interview me etc. I feel the extra 525£ is way too much. I do not have 800£ to give them at all. I am a student on a visa. Please advice me on what should I do. I tried contacting RLP but they were very mean and did not listen to me at all. I tried citizens bureau but they are saying to pay it and try some websites like money helper or turn to us for the money. I tried that as well, but it did not work. Please help me out.

Thank You in advance
    Tags: None

So you accepted a conditional caution from the police.
    Can you tell us what the conditions were, please?

Can you confirm John Lewis regained their goods in a saleable condition?

Comment

Thank you for the reply.

The condition is I will receive an online course and I need to complete it. It will be in regards to why shoplifting is bad and a crime etc. I haven't received it yet. Waiting on it.

So, unfortunately there have been 2 more instances when I was on cctv for shoplifting. The day they caught me was the 3rd time. I extremely regret all of this, and have taken necessary counselling and therapy sessions.