• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Im so scared i dont something horribel

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Im so scared i dont something horribel

Today at lidl i picked something uo values at £24 pound, no idea why i didnt pay for it even though i already bought so many other things.
    i suffer ptsd and dont know how the thought just popped in my mind and i did it.
    i walked out of the store with it and no one stopped me.

i hAve never done this before and the shop is quote far i wouldnt be able to go back and now i an so scared i will be arrested. Maybe they got my pic from cctv maybe they recognise me.
    point is i feel like a shame excuse for a human being and i dont know what will the outcome be.
    anyone been in a similar situation ?!
    can i ve arrested, have a criminal record or worse go to jail.
    please help
    Tags: None

As you have left the shop and no one stopped you to search you, then the shop has missed its opportunity to pursue you. The police very, very rarely get involved with shoplifting, so if the store contacted them seeking help identifying you from CCTV, they would not get assistance from the police.
    In essence, you got away with it. BUT just on the off chance they did connect these stolen items with your image on CCTV (very unlikely but worth considering) they may ask their security staff to keep an eye out for you in future.
    No you won't be arrested, no you wont be going to jail. Sadly retail theft is a fact of life for many shops and they absorb these costs by passing on higher prices to consumers.