• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Money spent by power of attorney/executor prior to death

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Money spent by power of attorney/executor prior to death

Hello all, I'm new to this and wonder if you can help. My grandmother passed away earlier this year and I’ve only just found out from a third party that I am beneficiary in the will (dated 4 years ago), sharing an interest in the value of the estate. The executor did not inform me that I was in the will – wasn’t he legally obliged to do this at the time of death? However, the main reason for my query is that the executor also had power of attorney 2-3 years prior to my grandmother’s death and had control of any bank accounts.

I have recently found out that the value of those bank accounts has reduced considerably in the past 2 years. When I asked the executor about this I was informed that my grandmother had told him to spend the money. There is no written record of this and I do not know what has been purchased. I was informed that there was no money in the estate at time of death, although I have been offered a sum well short of the inheritance I would have expected based on the value of the accounts 2 years ago. The executor maintains that he did not know that I was a beneficiary and that he has not done anything wrong.