• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Voluntary termination - coming after xs mileage even though "nothing more to pay"

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Voluntary termination - coming after xs mileage even though "nothing more to pay"

Please Help!

I have Voluntary Terminated my finance agreement as per Section 99 of the CCA 1974 which was agreed by Alphera BMW as over half the payments had been made. I have some experience of this having done this before successfully with nothing further to pay. I have also taken out a new lease with Alphera on a new car and was hoping they would take a sensible approach.

Their agreement stipulates stipulates 7.5p per mile excess mileage under their key information, but then refers you to "Termination: Your Rights" paragraph on the very same page.

I'm very aware of the wording: "You have the right to end this agreement etc etc..........If you have already paid at least this amount plus any overdue instalments and have taken reasonable care of the goods, you will not have to pay any more."

The condition report for the vehicle agreed that I had taken reasonable care of the goods, and I therefore had nothing further to pay in this regard.

However, they are going after the excess mileage of 10,000.

I've had this out on the phone with several managers and they are playing hardball even though it is clear to them I'm no shrinking violet!

I made them aware that I know why they try to enforce the excess mileage provision because they are a business, in the knowledge that most people will be scared into paying.

But have told them I had taken advice prior to going through the process from CAB and Trading Standards.