• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

VEAS clamped my vehicle

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VEAS clamped my vehicle

hello!

I am a motor trader and recently had one of my vehicles clamped.

the car was unlicensed and parked on private property.

i paid the £100 and taxed the vehicle to get the clamp released asap.

so i now have 2 issues to deal with, 1. the £100 for releasing the clamp. And 2. the dvla are saying i have committed an offence.

i wrote to the dvla, saying i am a motor trader therefore i am not required to declare a sorn, and also sent them the title plan of the premises showing where the vehicle was parked.

this was there response:

where shall i go now!? it clearly states on the sorn form:

and who do i claim the clamp release fee back from?

also can i claim for the day i had to take off work due to this?
    Tags: None

Re: VEAS clamped my vehicle

Originally posted by b4076 View Post
    can i claim for the day i had to take off work due to this?
    Almost certainly not, as you would not be able to prove you had lost any sale(s) as a result.

Comment

Originally posted by CleverClogs View Post
      Almost certainly not, as you would not be able to prove you had lost any sale(s) as a result.
      ok, well i wasnt overly worried over this, was only a query, surely i can expect them to pay for the fuel costs to drive to dvla office to show them the tax disc before they would remove the clamp though?

Comment