• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Hire Purchase PCP - Excess Mileage Charges.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hire Purchase PCP - Excess Mileage Charges.

Hi Forum I am a newbie here so please treat me with care :-)

I am also happy to pay for advice and happy to donate to the forum I understand there is nothing as a free lunch.

In 2017 I entered into a PCP agreement with Volkswagen Financial Services.

In 2021 March I exercised my right under section 99 of the consumer credit act 1974 to terminate the agreement and delivered the vehicle back.

As I had paid more than half of the total amount payable I thought that would be the end of it. The salesman even advised me to do the VT.

Roll on today - a few years later I received a claim form asking for £4684.77 in excess mileage charges. Made up as follows:

Excess mileage charge 0.132 x 35490 miles.

The salesman at the time said if I VT the car I would not have anything else to pay and this is the first time I have heard from them again.

Do I need to just pay this or was the sales man correct in once they accepted my VT I was free from any excess charges.

Please advise and many thanks
    Tags: None

The SHORTCUTS panel on the right of this page includes a guide to voluntary termination which includes a comprehensive section on excess mileage charges which you might useful

Comment

Hi thanks for the guide. The issue I have though is I am time bound by the court process and do not have time to complain to the FOS as the court process has already started. If I defend the claim that has been issued and cite the following my defence (taken from the guide) will I prevail at court or will judgement be entered against me: