• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

CCJ for Parking Ticket I knew nothing about - CEL

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CCJ for Parking Ticket I knew nothing about - CEL

Hi, newbie here! I've found this site incredibly helpful so thank you to everyone who posts information on this site.

Last month I discovered I have a CCJ on my record, issued in 2019, for a parking ticket from 2018. All paperwork was sent to an address I moved out of in 2016 (following the breakdown of my marriage) so I had no knowledge of the parking ticket or CCJ until last month when a Debt Collection company contacted me at my current address.

I am due to apply for a mortgage so I am desperate to get this CCJ off of my record.

I contacted the DVLA who confirmed that my previous vehicle was registered to my old address at the time the parking ticket occurred - I must have forgotten to update DVLA when I moved, which I understand is my mistake. All correspondence would have been sent to that address.

I contacted the court last week and paid for a copy of the Judgment. This is the first time I have seen a copy of this (despite it being issued 2.5 years ago)

Yesterday I wrote to Civil Enforcement Ltd (CEL) asking for them to consent to set aside the CCJ. I agreed to pay the total amount owed and the £100 court fee. (I understand that I could perhaps have fought to not pay this, however having the CCJ removed is my priority right now and I would prefer to pay the amount and have CEL consent)

CEL today agreed to consent to having the CCJ set aside providing I first pay the full amount due to the Debt Collection company. I have now done this and replied to CEL asking them to now send over their consent.