• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

requistion to attend court for failing to notify dvla that i no longer had the vehicl

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• requistion to attend court for failing to notify dvla that i no longer had the vehicl

Hope someone can advise.......I had purchased an old car as I was a new driver (even though I am 41) 3 weeks later I hit a car pretty bad and my car was unfit to drive. I left the car overnight and returned the following day as my insurance company said it was ok for me to remove it, when I got there a couple of fellas said they would take it, so I let them free of charge, I had no dealings with anything like this before and didn't know I had to get them to do the v5, first thing I heard was a letter stating my tax was up for renewal on the car. By this time I had purchased a new car so I wrote a letter bk stating that basically I had given the car away and honestly didn't even know where the v5 was. I thought this would be the end but only yesterday I received a court summons for said vehicle and they are saying I didn't contact them when I deffo did. What do I do?
    vicky72
    Tags: None

Re: requistion to attend court for failing to notify dvla that i no longer had the ve

Hi vicky72, & welcome to Legal Beagles.

Firstly, ignorantia juris non excusat!

However, if you have informed DVLA in writing, that may suffice.

https://www.gov.uk/notifying-dvla-if...l-your-vehicle

Have you retained proof of postage?
    CAVEAT LECTOR

This is only my opinion - "Opinions are made to be changed --or how is truth to be got at?" (Byron)

You and I do not see things as they are. We see things as we are.
    Cohen, Herb