• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Cancelling single person discount?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cancelling single person discount?

Hey everyone, i'm new here. I've got plenty of experience with fighting local councils regarding unjust parking tickets and know that system fairly well - so i'll try to help out in the other sub forums from time to time. However, I was looking into something quite out of my remit here and need a bit of advice if possible...

I've been claiming single person discount for about 4 years now as I was the only person living in my home. My partner moved in recently and we've had a baby and got on with life. I'd completely forgotten about updating my council tax status and have recently got a letter asking if i'm still the only person living here.
    Now, I realise i'm supposed to have told the council within 21 days of someone else moving in - but i'll hold my hands up and admit that i'd completely let it slip. Anyone who's had a child will know you've generally got a lot more going on in your life at that time and things can slip.

The letter I have had is the standard 'we've been cross checking with external agencies etc'.