• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Trying to register with the General Dental Council

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trying to register with the General Dental Council

Hi,

I am a qualified dentist, having completed my qualification in the UAE, with a university that is recognized and approved by the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland. I have also completed an internship in the UAE. My nationality is Pakistani, and I am married to a British National.

I have registered initially with the GDC (General Dental Council) in the UK and am trying to obtain exempt person status so that I can actually apply for jobs and practise.

Please see attached the 'Guidance on Exempt Person status.pdf'.
    I would be applying through paragraph 3 - I have given paragraph 2 and 3 below as both are relevant as I will explain after the excerpt. The whole document is attached however.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2. A UK national with enforceable EU rights

If you are a UK national, you will only qualify as an exempt person if you can demonstrate that you are seeking access to or are pursuing the profession by virtue of an enforceable EU right. In order to demonstrate this, you will need to provide the GDC with documentary evidence that:

1) You hold an appropriate European diploma as defined in Schedule 2 to the Act, or hold a qualification which entitles you to be assessed under the General System Regulations(see note1); AND/OR