• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Ex wants paying out of house – can’t get mortgage alone

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ex wants paying out of house – can’t get mortgage alone

Hi. My ex separated from me over 2 years ago and we’ve been properly divorced for a few months now. We jointly own the property I live in and he hasn’t lived there since the separation. I have been paying the mortgage alone for over 2 years, even though his name is on the mortgage. Prior to that, we lived there together for almost 10 years.

We have a 13 year old son who lives with me and stays with his dad one night a week. We have no official court order over this and I would be fine if his dad wanted to see him more, but he doesn’t. We do not have child maintenance set up, but his dad sends me a similar amount a month to help pay for things for our son.

I also own a property that used to belong to my parents. I have a small mortgage on this too, which I have also been paying alone. My ex has never lived there and I am the sole owner.

To the issue:

My ex wants £10,000 and to come off the mortgage, rather than try and force us to sell the house. It’s not an unreasonable amount, but the issue is that, despite never missing a mortgage payment, I have a poor credit rating and do not earn enough to take on the mortgage alone in lenders’ eyes (even though I can afford it, as shown by paying it alone all this time). It therefore doesn’t matter if I could get him the £10,000 (through selling him the other home, for example), I cannot take on the mortgage alone.