• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Customer Services forced to sell

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Customer Services forced to sell

Hi guys

As you know I work as a Customer Services Advisor in a outsourcing company. When I was interviewed I was advised part of my job was "promoting relevent services" to customers, but there were no sales involved. I was happy with this as hard sales were never part of my idea of the Ideal Job!

Slowly the "promotion" part of the job has turned in to blatant sales, with team leaders wandering round once every 2 hours asking for your sales figures, and having "huddles" to discuss how to increase the sales potentials of the unit!
    Meetings that used to be how to increase customer satisfaction have turned in to how to generate more sales and any customer serivces issues (i.e the job I'm paid to do) are being put on the back burner or just generally ignored.

Don't get me wrong, the ability to sell is not a problem to me, but to me once I have said "Do you know that XXX is available" thats is my job done. If the customer says no, the customer says no. They now want me to ask WHY the customer doesn't want it and try to convince the customer to take it, surely that is not promoting but outright hard selling?