• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Ill-health Retirement - Advice Needed

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ill-health Retirement - Advice Needed

Hi All

I have been working for the Civil Service for 20 years. However, I suffer from a learning disability and this has made things hard. Just lately there have been a lot of changes at work which I have found it hard to keep up with. This has gone on for over a year. I had a medical referral when the changes started happening at which they recommended I be moved to a more "routine" post. My employers claimed that no such post existed (although I have subsequently found out that they had filled some suitable posts) and have put on a performance review instead giving me 2 months to "improve" or face dismissal. Since then my health has deteriorated further and I am now suffering from stress and depression.

However, my employer has now suggested that I apply for ill-healt retirement. My question is, would I have a good case for Constructive Dismissal or Disability Discrimination? I do not want to apply for Medical retirement at 43 years old but is it my best option?

Thanks
    Tags: None

Re: Ill-health Retirement - Advice Needed

Hi Jayde and welcome to Legal Beagles.

A few questions -