• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

employer seeks revenge

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• employer seeks revenge

Good Afternoon,
    I am a HGV driver and worked for a company for 18 months. ive never been late and not had a day of sick. I am polite and very efficient.

Drivers hours regulations stipulate any shift between 12-4 am must be a maximum of 10 hours only due to safety reasons. Its the law and I can be fined for breaking driving regulations. Driver fatige is a much greater risk at night. The employer can with his employees set up a voluntary workforce agreement but it has to be done properly with better checks for driver infringments to keep road users safe.

My employment contract states none exist. I was being asked to drive from 1pm till 4 am. this seamed to breach the regulations so I asked if a workforce agreement was in place. I was told yes and therefore I could legally work for 15 hours. I asked for copy and one was not provided.

several weeks later I was one day told I must sign a workforce agreement. I asked if I could discuss it and told no. It aprears they were breaking the law operating without one and then decided to simply order me to sign one. The traffic commisioner have told me they are still breaking the law.