• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Breach of Contract?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Breach of Contract?

Hi,

I recently started training in a Self Employed Driver role, working for a company out of a local depot. I had done 4 days training of 6 and they were nagging me to sign a contract, text messaging me during the day requesting I fill out the contract, sign it and send a photo of it that day. I was reluctant to do so as I hadn't even finished my training and had only been shown 50% of my delivery route....

Anyway, I signed it as I thought they may need it due to there being some legal jargon in it in relation to tax liability, public liability and business use insurance on vehicles being my responsibility...so I guessed they legally needed me to sign it so they are not in anyway liable if I ran someone over or damaged someone's property etc....

The contract stated that I needed to give 1 weeks notice if I was getting paid weekly, or 1 months notice if I got paid monthly, or I could leave with no notice and no pay. So to me it wasn't a big deal if I signed it or not...it made no difference, whether I signed it or not - I felt that I was free to leave with no problems and no pay if I decided it wasn't for me.