• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum. Please register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
  • If you need a solicitors help with your employment issue you can find and rate firms on our sister site, JustBeagle.com

You can obtain Free Expert & Confidential ACAS Code Based Employment Law Advice directly from ACAS by calling 0300 123 1100. It is available Monday to Friday 8am-6pm. Or visit their website at ACAS.ORG.UK
  • LegalBeaglesģ is a free forum, founded in May 2007, providing legal guidance and support to consumers and SME's across a range of legal areas.

Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Contract terminated during probationary period

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Contract terminated during probationary period

Hi everyone, newbie here and really need some help and guidance.

started new job in January, training was poor and I was starting to regret having given up my safe and stable career in education. However, 3 weeks into the new job the employer had a meeting with me on Friday last week and advised me that things weren't working out and that they wanted me to leave with immediate effect. I received confirmation of this yesterday by email stating they would only pay me for the 8 days I worked this month.

The contract, although not signed by me, states:

Section 4 Probationary Period
    4.5 The employer may in its sole and absolute discretion terminate the Employee's probationary employment forthwith by paying the Employee a lump sum equal to 1 month's salary in lieu of any required notice together with any accrued holiday entitlement pursuant to clause 15.​​​​​​