• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Letter of Claim - Restons Solicitors Debt Claim. Inaccurate & against contract.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Letter of Claim - Restons Solicitors Debt Claim. Inaccurate & against contract.

Hello, I apologise as this is my first time here.

Yesterday I received a letter from Restons Solicitors about a extremely old debt from Halifax dating back to 2011.

Now what I remember, this was a agreement between myself and Halifax over a student overdraft, who themselves had terminated a year early despite me still being in college on a 3 year course.
    The branch manager at the time agreed it was their mistake and we came to the agreement I would be allowed to open another account elsewhere (I chose Lloyds who I am still with to this day) and pay £5 a month, which after 6 years would be terminated, even if the repayment was not in full.
    All original documentation was kept in local branch and I heard nothing until yesterday of said debt as I continued to pay the £5 each month.

Suddenly I get a full package of inaccurate (and frankly manipulated documents) from a Restons Solicitors demanding full payment of £676.20 by 20th November.
    They provided a bland breakdown of payments, supposedly from myself (with no evidence) on inaccurate dates and for a inaccurate period.
    They claim I paid between 02/12/2013 to 24/10/2018, however I have spent the morning getting bank statements (as far as I could) to November 2011. This clearly shows since original agreement, and account closure of their date 27th July 2011 (Need to check with branch this week) and NOT from 02/12/2013 as their claim demands.