Universal Credit – If your payment date is on a bank holiday or weekend you’ll be paid on the working day before.

Universal Credit is normally paid on the same date  each month, however if your normal date is the 25th, 26th or 27th December you should receive it early on Friday 22nd December.

Universal Credit due to be paid on the 1st or 2nd January 2018 should be paid on Friday 29 December 2017.


Your Child Benefit payment is usually paid early if it’s due on a bank holiday.

Payment Due on…
Payment will be made on…
Monday 25th December
Thursday 21st December
Tuesday 26th December
Thursday 21st December
Monday 1st January
Friday 29th December

Tax Credits – Your payments over Christmas and the New Year may be early.

Payment Due on…
Payment will be made on…
Monday 25th December
Friday 22nd December
Tuesday 26th December
Friday 22nd Decemberr
Wednesday 27th December
Friday 22nd December
Thursday 28th December
Wednesday 27th December
Monday 1st January 2018
Friday 29th December
Tuesday 2nd January 2018
Friday 29th December
Wednesday 3rd January 2018
Tuesday 2nd January 2018

If your payment is late, check the payment date on your award notice and contact your bank before calling the Tax Credit Helpline.