• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Letter before claim query

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Letter before claim query

Hi there.

I have zero experience of this type of forum, so apologies in advance if I do not use it correctly in the first instance.

My issue is that I have received an 'LBC' letter from Mortimer Clarke Solicitors, relating to an old debt with Northern Rock. The debt is now owned by Marlin, though I have been chased by Cabot and now Mortimer Clarke (MC).

The LBC (dated 22/3/17) says that I have 14 days to pay the balance in full or MC will issue a claim against me in the County Court for the full balance, on the instruction of their client (Marlin).

I have had a look around on the internet at various forums but have found the various instances and responses confusing, as to the whole process of what to do and when. My worrying hasn't helped me in organising what to do either! On this site I have seen a response to a similar issue a while back.. it said:

Firstly, don't panic.

Secondly, many of these Consumer Credit debt based Court Claims are issued through the County Court Business Centre and are rather lacking in detail and information. The are often claims bought by debt purchasers who don't have the paperwork to back them up to hand and who wing it on the hope that they obtain a default judgment.

So, first steps (within 14 days of receiving the claim)

1: ACKNOWLEDGE THE CLAIM - you can do this online usually at www.moneyclaim.gov.uk
    You'll need your claim reference and password from the front of the claim form

2: Send A CCA REQUEST to the CLAIMANT ( see here )