Thread: Can i refuse to work?

• Display
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default Can i refuse to work?

Hi.

Back in June i was TUPE'd over from my old employer to my new employer. My old employer than gave their employes a pay rise which my new employer didn't but they have been in in discussions since then about me and a few other colleagues in the same boat recieiving one (my new employer sends a monthly bill to my old employer for my wages so they actually pay it therefor have to ok any pay rise).

My old employer gave their forklift drivers a 97p an hour payrise, yet i found out today that my pay rise is only 44p an hour (having previously been on the same rate).

However, i'm not employed as a forklift driver, my contract is as a warehouseman with no mention of driving a forklift in it, but they needed a forklift driver and i'm qualified so i've been dring it for a few years.

Basically put i find the pay rise of 44p an hour an insult when my old employer can pay their drivers 97p extra but me only 44p.

So my question is, can i now say that i don't wish to drive the forklift anymore and want to simply go back to the role my contract states?

I know they don't have to pay me the 97p and can pay me what they want as long as i'm getting what i'm contractually entitled to but i don't wish to drive a forklift knowing i recieved a lower pay rise than other drivers on site because i find it unfair and insulting. Also i know i have to be careful when it comes to refusing to work but do i have to drive a forlift if i don't want to, if i have to do so because it's a skill i have and something i've been doing for several years so can't refuse now, even though it's not contractual?

Just wandering exactly where i stand before i go refusing to do anything.

Mentioned
    11 Post(s)

Default Re: Can i refuse to work?