• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Voluntary Termination

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Voluntary Termination

Hi All, I posted this earlier within the motoring section of forum but not sure if this was the correct area, appreciate any help that comes my way all

Newbie here looking for some assistance, I have been in contact with my finance Startline Motor Finance in relation to VT for my HP.

I have been giving a figure of £920 to meet the 50% to enable me to carry out the VT which I would like to do.

I have read into the section of VT (which is extremely helpful) on this forum but I have a few questions which I cannot find the answers to.

The finance company keep referring to section 11 - Your right to end the agreement early, they are advising me I am liable for retaking possession of the vehicle and that I must pay them the cost of repairs required to put the vehicle in good condition (car is excellent condition).

Read through the VT form I can see both of the above are not legally required but not sure how it will work if it is within my contract ? Also when I hit the 50% for payments can I automatically cancel my direct debit for the finance payments ?

I really appreciate your help and thanks for any advice that follows,

Paul
    Tags: None

Re: Voluntary Termination

Hi Paul,

Your liability is clear and it's 50% anything in your contract which imposes further costs is unenforceable. Once youhave given notice to terminate you can cancel your DD but I would usually do this a few days from when you sent your notice, either by email or if by post keep proof of postage.