• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

British Gas

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• British Gas

Hi everyone.

This is my first time on here so please be gentle with me.

I was making a drink for a mate and waiting for another two to arrive for a weekend away when the post arrived.
    There was just the one letter addressed to me from a debt agency. The letter stated that I owed British Gas £183 for electricity from 2009 to April 2016. I called the debt agency but there was no reply so called British Gas.
    I spoke to a nice Scottish lady who like me couldn't understand why I had been sent this letter. You see, I don't have BG for electricity, never have, but do for gas! Secondly, I've only lived at this address since 2014. She could see that I took over the gas supply back in Sept 2014 and that I owed no money for gas so transferred me to her supervisor which she said would take a minute or two. The transfer I am assuming was to India and a guy called Parker spoke to me and explained that I had the meter taken out back in 2009 and that the meter was still live. I told him that I didn't live here until 2014 and that BG has never been my supplier of electricity. He told me that I needed to pay the bill or it would effect my credit score. He then again (which really annoyed me) that I had the meter taken out back in 2009.