• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

advice needed on easements and rights of way

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• advice needed on easements and rights of way

Hi all this is my first time posting on here.
    I own a house as a servient owner. My property has a slip road at the rear that allows the neighbour (dominant owner) the right to pass and repass over this road at any reasonable time to access his garage and the rear of his house.
    About 6 months ago he built a new drive with parking for several cars at the front of his house and since that time he has not used the right of way. I would like to make it clear I am not looking to remove his right of way, I know that is virtually impossible.
    Both houses were formerely owned by the local police authority. My nieghbours house was the first to be sold and the owner got permission from the police authority to put up an 8ft gate on the right of way for security. This will have been in the mid 1980s. The only caveat was that if any subsequent servient owner objected to the gate he would have to take it down!
    I moved in to the house in 1990 and in 1998 purchased it. I did not object to the gate so it remained.
    In 2001 the gate became rotten so I replaced it with a new one of the same size.
    The dominant property had changed hands by then. And the new dominant owner asked permission in 2006 to store a caravan on the right of way overnight in preparation for a holiday. I gave permission.