• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Employer deducting wages for "Damage"

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employer deducting wages for "Damage"

Hi,

I'm a field service engineer and as such have to drive a company van. I've been with the company almost 5 years and had 3 or 4 vans, and never so much as scratched any of them in that time.

Recently my van broke down, I followed company procedure and called the AA. The AA man said there was a hole in the radiator, filled up the coolant and followed me home.

Long story short, my employers are trying to charge me £400 for "damage" to the radiator. I have appealed and now have an official grievance meeting upcoming, as they are insistent on charging me for it.

I understand this is probably very dependent on my employment contract and I have read the section on rechargeable damage to company vehicles, but it is very vague as to what they mean by "damage". In short it says any damage to the vehicle whilst in possession of the employee is chargeable to the employee.

Surely it is not legal for them to charge a PAYE employee to repair a vehicle that has genuinely broken down and then call the vehicle damaged?

I appreciate any replies,

Thanks
    Tags: None

Re: Employer deducting wages for "Damage"