• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

PCN received after 14 days of the incident

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PCN received after 14 days of the incident

Hello there,

I'm quite new to this. I've received a PCN today (22/06/2016) and the date of contravention was on 06/06/2016, Date of notice is on 14/06/2016. There is no date on envelope and I only can see the bar code. I'm not sure post office can help to track the date they sent. Please find the attach letter. I don't think I saw the arrow on a blue sign, otherwise I won't turn.

Can anyone help me please?

Many thanks.

Jp
    Attached Files
    Tags: None

Re: PCN received after 14 days of the incident

Hi and welcome
    Basically the time limit for issuing a notice is 28 days from when the occurrence took place.

I'm afraid not seeing a sign is not a defence, unlessit was incorrectly sited, or missing or obscured etc.
    Have you checked that the signs are there and comply with the relevant regulations?

Comment

Good morning, many thanks for your message. I wasn't defending not seeing a sign (it was a silly mistake not looking up properly). I believe I've been disturbed by heavy traffic ahead.
      And also I thought the time limit for issuing a notice is 14 days.
      In that case I better pay quickly and extra careful in the future.
      Once again, I really appreciate for your help.
      Best, Jp

Comment

Originally posted by kmphyoe View Post
        Good morning, many thanks for your message. I wasn't defending not seeing a sign (it was a silly mistake not looking up properly). I believe I've been disturbed by heavy traffic ahead.
        And also I thought the time limit for issuing a notice is 14 days.