• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Fixed Term Contract to Permanent Contract

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fixed Term Contract to Permanent Contract

Hi,

I have been working under a Fixed Term Contract since 2012 July. I have had my contract extended twice in the past (all fixed term contract) and my current fixed term contract runs till July 2017. Last week I received a letter from HR saying I have now been moved from "Fixed Term Contract" to a "Permanent Contract". All other T&C's of the employment remaining same.

I know I would have been eligible for a permanent employee (staff) position after 4 years of FTC but couple of months before that they decided to make me permanent contractor. Now there doesn't seem much of a difference between the two but the staff (permanent employees) get additional benefits compared to permanent contract staff.

What would be your suggestion? Should I just take the offer and forget about the additional benefits that permanent employees get or should I just decline the permanent contract offer as my 4 years will be up in 2 months time and then ask for a Permanent employee position? If I decline to take this offer, can the company make me redundant before my 4 years are up (although my contract is till July next year)? :confused2: