• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Manager disclosed my sickness in an email to all staff

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Manager disclosed my sickness in an email to all staff

I am a manager in a small organisation . I report to the CEO . I am currently off of work due to work related stress. I am the only manager, I have 19 direct reports. Last week I was signed off with work related stress for 2 weeks. I have just logged into my emails to discover an email with the title of "an update on ........... Sickness " it stated that some people are already aware that I have been signed off, that it for 2 weeks, the reason is work related stress and that him and the trustees will be working with me to resolve this when I return." Non of this has been discussed with me. I was starting to feel better and ready to return, this has shocked me although it is typical of him. I am going to raise a grievance but I want time to think about it. In the mean time I do not want my information shared with anyone else. This email has gone to 26 members of staff. I work with other organisations and I am respected in my field . Should I send an email citing the data protection and ICO policy ? I don't feel ready to enter into dialog about it at the moment with him. At the moment I don't want my private i