• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

I've been driving for 6 years without a licence, unaware.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I've been driving for 6 years without a licence, unaware.

Two weeks ago I noticed that my driving license was due to expire on 29/06/2015. So I went on to the DVLA website to try and renew it, that failed and i tried again the next day, failed again.
    I then requested a D1 form to renew my driving license, which arrived in the post today. Today 18/06/2015.

I had some query about how to fill in the form so I called the DVLA. I was then informed that my license had been revoked in 2009.
    I was told by the DVLA, that because the offense is now over four years old, the records are not available,
    but they can make an educated guess (apparently 90% accurate) as to the date and type of offense, which was as follows.

Some time in the 12 months previous to the 16th march 2009 I was issued with a fixed penalty (best guess, speeding fine, DVLA).
    16th March 2009 - Taken to court for failing to send my license for endorsements.
    18th April 2009 - License revoked.

I then tried to phone the fixed penalty office for some hours no response.
    I called the magistrates court and the lady on the phone pulled up all my records for all the surrounding courts and the only court date in my name was from 2004, and unrelated matter.

I then phoned the county court and they also had no records of me ever attending court at all.

The DVLA claims that they sent me a driving license renewal form in April 2015, I did not receive it.
    The DVLA claims that they sent me a letter about my license being revoked in 2009 , I did not receive it.