• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Divorce HELP - EEA family member rights after divorce

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Divorce HELP - EEA family member rights after divorce

Hi,
    I need urgent help, I have been residing in the UK since 2007 with my EEA national husband. I have been married to my husband for 22 years now. My husband is a disable pensioner and he owns our house. I have never worked in my life as i was looking after my children. My husband is now planning to file a divorce case so I want to ask you that am i eligible for anything e.g. financial help and share in the house.
    Tags: None

Re: Divorce HELP

What is your status - are you UK national or EEA or other?

( some info http://www.davidsonmorris.com/visa-after-divorce/
    If a non-EEA citizen has been married to, or has been in a civil partnership with an EEA citizen for at least 3 years before the divorce or dissolution proceedings were initiated and they cohabited with the EEA partner in the UK for at least 12 months during their relationship, provided the EEA national was exercising treaty rights in the UK during the 3 year period, the non-EEA Family Member may be eligible to apply for a Retained Right of Residence.

A non-EEA national may be granted a 5 year residence permit which would enable them to work in the UK. Once they have completed a total of 5 years lawful residence in the UK under EEA Regulations, they would be eligible to apply for Permanent Residence. This may include any periods of continuous lawful residence acquired under the EEA Regulations prior to the grant of the residence permit, based on a Retained Right of Residence.