• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Yet another Parking Eye County Court Query

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yet another Parking Eye County Court Query

Hi all,

Newbie here.

My other half's uncle recently received a letting from the County Court Business Center for overstaying at the Sheraton Hotel, Heathrow's car park. He doesn't dispute the overstay.

The problem is he's a contractor and works away a lot.

The penalty notice was issued on 17/01; since the start of this year he's been working on contracts in Guernsey and more recently in Scotland so hasn't been home to check mail and as a result missed the earlier letters regarding the fine.

Last week, when he did get a chance to go home, he found the earlier correspondence from Parking Eye and the letter from the County Court, dated 07/04, asking for £175 (£100 amount claimed, £25 court fee, £50 solicitors).

I've read through the other posts on this topic and can't find a specific answer hence the new thread. Does anyone have any words of wisdom on how best to tackle this, ideally to reduce the fine or have it cancelled??

Many thanks in advance
    Tags: None

Re: Yet another Parking Eye County Court Query

Is the letter from the court a claim form ? It must be acknowledged and state that he intends to defend. It would help if all the paperwork was uploaded (with personal details removed) so that people can advise better.

The website Parking Prankster has a guide that can be downloaded that details how to counter the claim.

Did the uncle stay in the hotel? If so it will be worth contacting them and trying to get the charge cancelled.

P.S. It was not a fine, it was a speculative invoice.

Comment