• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Personal Guarentee Help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Personal Guarentee Help

Hi all,

im new to this and looking for some advice, Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction on this one.

Ive got my own small used car business, due to a lot of family trouble including the death of my father my business is now insolvent. I stopped trading a few weeks ago and only have one creditor, I've no assets to liquidate and no personal assets but have a personal guarentee for my stock funding that will now be called in. The full policy was originally for £50k which was increased to £75k. I currently have £26k in stock that will be returned so I'm £49k short.

First query,

The documents were signed at the lawyers office of the supplying company. A couple of days after signing I got an email (which I still have) from the stocking company (not the lawyers) saying they had forgotten to get me to sign the Agency Agreement and have attached the signature page for me to sign an get someone to sign as witness and post it back, in return they would send me a full copy of all signed docs (never received them). I signed the signature page, walked along to my mechanic got him to sign it as a witness and posted it off. He had no idea what he was signing and I've no idea if it was attached to the same agency agreement as I had originally read. Would this give me grounds to challenge the guarentee?

Second query,