• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Can I get sacked for applying for a job within the company I work for during worktime

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I get sacked for applying for a job within the company I work for during worktime

Hi Guys,

I hope your well.

I applied for a job today in work on the internal vacancies website and I had my cv open on my computer as I had to upload my cv with my application. I had completed my application during my lunch but had not closed the cv in microsoft word and my manger saw it open on my desktop and asked me why I was updating my cv in work time. I currently work in sales and have consistently been one of the top sales people however I have applied for a job in finance for the same company as I wanted to move into this area. I was already apprehensive about informing my manager about my decision so when I was asked what I was doing with my cv at that point I decided not to tell my employer as I felt it would have of made the situation worse. I was told to go home 15 early by manager and we would have a chat tomorrow. I think my manager is bitter as 5 people have recently left in quick succession and they are trying to make an issue out of nothing. Im very worried about the outcome of my meeting tomorrow. i have worked for the same company for nearly three years and have never previously been in any type of altercation in such a manner. I would really appreciate some help if possible?

I look forward to hearing from you soon

Kind Regards,

Chris Seccombe

Re: Can I get sacked for applying for a job within the company I work for during work