• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Claim form and statue of limitations reply?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Claim form and statue of limitations reply?

Hi guys

I have just received a claim form from Mortimer Clarke acting for Cabot relating to a credit card

The card was from 2006 which I really didn't manage things well and which I couldn't afford so I stopped paying. I did ask for a copy of the credit agreement it never arrived and I never heard anything back. I really can't remember any details of it

I am now a student and not able to pay basically

So I have received a claim form now

It appears the debt was sold to Cabot in 2010. I have never been in contact with anyone for well over 6 years so I'm now surprised to have an actual claim form.

Can anyone help me with what I should say to the claim form in reply to say it shouldn't be able to be. CCJ because of the statute of limitations. I'm sure it's right that they can't take legal action because of the time while I understand they can still send general letters?

I'm panicking a little bit now about it all so I hope someone can help me with what I can reply to the claim for with.

Thanks in advance.

Apple
    Tags: None

Re: Claim form and statue of limitations reply?

Are you absolutely certain that you haven't either acknowledged the debt formally (in writing) or paid towards it for a full 6 years?

Did you receive a Letter Before Action threatening a court claim in recent months?

Comment

Originally posted by Kafka View Post
      Are you absolutely certain that you haven't either acknowledged the debt formally (in writing) or paid towards it for a full 6 years?