• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Defaults and Statute Barred ?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Defaults and Statute Barred ?

Hi All

Im new to this and as my girlfriend have recently started looking in to getting a mortgage i am in desperate need of some help.

When i was alot younger i took out a loan with a bank to get a car and pay off my student over draft etc. The bank ended up talking me in to taking more, so much so i had to stop them going even higher. Whilst i was signing the forms and cutting up my old credit cards they talked me into getting a gold card with them. I told them I wasnt responible enough to have one as i had shown. Long story short i ended up getting a 15k loan at the age of 23.

5 years later after never missing a payment i get in to difficulty paying it back ie losing job, relationship breaking down and having to move back home with parents. First thing i did was to tell the bank and asked them if i could defer payment for a month or 2 to give me time to get a job. They declined, i went to a debt councellor who helped me with a budget to send them with what i can afford. They rejected it.. In the end i couldnt keep up with the huge costs they kept adding on and so i gave up (either that or having a nervous break down).

Anyways. 5 years later (current time) I apply for a mortgage and get refused so i check my file. I have a default from the original debtor in june 2008 which i knew about. However, in 2012 the 5th DCA to have bought the debt has put a default on my file every month from then up till this month.