• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Clarification DCA SB and defaults please.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clarification DCA SB and defaults please.

New member but long time browser, so a big thank you to all the experts on here!

i have recently received 2 letters from wescot credit services ltd. The second of which being a "final notice" requesting that I make contact and agree to pay an outstanding balance of £20 or so relating to Telefonica O2.

I have not contacted them.

I can only think that this relates to a phone contract i had when i was a student. I have been through my bank statements and the last payment I made to o2 was on the 16th of May 2007, so a little over 6 years ago and hence I presume statute barred.

I have no issue in paying any monies that I owe, however I am concerned that if I pay, it will be acknowledgement of the debt and lead to a default on my file / other derogatory report.

My other concern is that the letter mentions that inaction " may lead to a door step collector being instructed..." and the address is that of my elderly mother.

So my question is should I:
    a) Contact Wescot and pay the money
    b) Send Wescot a statute barred letter
    c) Ignore the letter

Many thanks in advance, James
    Tags: None

Re: Clarification DCA SB and defaults please.

Originally posted by Onetime View Post
    New member but long time browser, so a big thank you to all the experts on here!

i have recently received 2 letters from wescot credit services ltd. The second of which being a "final notice" requesting that I make contact and agree to pay an outstanding balance of £20 or so relating to Telefonica O2.

I have not contacted them.